Hunger Games Readalikes: Divergent

One of the most popular Hunger Games readalikes over the past few years is Divergent by Veronica Roth. It is set in a dystopian future with several major divisions in society. They are referred to as factions and specifically dictate a person’s role in society and where they live, which is very similar to the idea of the districts. The book is also similar to The Hunger Games in that it has a strong female protagonist. Beatrice (Tris for short) Prior uses her personal strength and courage to completely break from her family and her upbringing to join a new faction when it is time for her to officially become part of society as an adult. This move proves to be even more difficult than she expected when the training she receives puts her body through the ringer. Those who enjoy the fighting and intensity of The Hunger Games will definitely like this portion of the book.

Overall, Divergent is a great look at the life of a strong female protagonist in a dystopian authoritarian future. The book itself is the first story in a trilogy. The second book is Insurgent, and the third book is Allegiant. The third book was only released a few weeks ago on October 22, 2013. ALSO, the Divergent movie will be released in March 2014. The first full trailer was shown just last week (it can be seen here)!

Divergent

 

Bring It to Life (BITL)!

Take your own aptitude test. In Divergent, young adults must first take an aptitude test before officially declaring themselves on Choosing Day when they select a faction for their future. There are several aptitude tests online that anyone can take to see where they would find themselves in the world of Divergent—Abnegation (selfless), Amity (peaceful), Candor (honest), Dauntless (brave), or Erudite (intelligent).

Here are a few aptitude test options online:

DivergentFactions

QFeast

Divergent Facebook Page Aptitude Test

factions

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s